The Whole Enchilada

Thoughts on life, work, tech & biz and the whole enchilada

Good Thoughts On iTunes vs. Xbox vs. Tivo for Movie Rentals

Posted by wholeenchilada on February 26, 2008

Here’s a post with some great info on iTunes vs. Xbox vs. Tivo for Movie Rentals:

I use iTunes every now and then to rent a movie for my iTouch; usually when I’m traveling. Last night I rented a movie via my XBox 360 from Microsoft and previously, I’ve rented movies from Amazon’s Unbox from my Tivo. Here is a chart laying out the basics of each of the three options. Below it I’ll discuss my thoughts on them.

  XBox 360 iTunes Tivo
Minimum
Hardware Price
$349 $229 $99
HD Yes * Yes No
Monthly Fee $5 $0 $12.95
Movie Price 480 Points (aprox $6.95) $.99 – $3.99 $1.99 – $3.99
Terms Expires 15 days (24 hrs after you click play) Expires 30 days (24 hrs after you click play) Expires 30 days (24 hrs after you click play)
Mobile Device iPod family None Windows Based Laptop




Read more of Cal Evans post here: http://blog.calevans.com/2008/02/25/itunes-vs-xbox-vs-tivo-for-movie-rentals/

Some great comparative information for renting media via the internet. Do read the complete post for more detail on each of the above options.

Leave a Reply

 
